You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience and security.
Question: Japan consists of plains, mostly.
Answer: Mountains cover more than 80 percent of the land. The largest and highest mountains rise in central Honshu. Part of the range is known as the Japanese Alps.
Question: Japan never experiences earthquakes.
Answer: Japan sits atop four tectonic plates. It is one of the most earthquake-prone countries in the world, and earthquakes strike there regularly.
Question: In Japan the head of state is the king.
Answer: In Japan the head of state is the emperor.
Question: Japan consists of a single island.
Answer: Japan is located off the east coast of Asia. It consists of four large islands and more than 3,900 smaller islands.
Question: The capital of Japan is Osaka.
Answer: Tokyo is the capital of Japan. It is one of the world’s largest cities.
Question: The cherry tree is a symbol of Japan.
Answer: The cherry tree is a symbol of Japan. Cherry trees grow wild in the mountains. The Japanese also plant them throughout the country.
Mt. Fuji from the west, near the boundary between Yamanashi and Shizuoka Prefectures, Japan.

Exploring Japan: Fact or Fiction?

{{(vm.state.currentQuestion + 1)}} of {{vm.questions.length}}
Exploring Japan: Fact or Fiction?
You finished!
Your Score: {{vm.state.numberCorrect}} / {{vm.questions.length}}
Play Next Quiz
{{(vm.state.currentQuestion + 1)}} of {{vm.questions.length}}
{{vm.state.numberCorrect}}/{{vm.questions.length}} correct
{{vm.state.score|number:0}}/{{vm.maxPoints}} points
Your results
Question {{($index + 1)}}
Your Answer:
{{vm.state.responses[$index].isCorrect ? 'Your' : ''}} Correct Answer:
Are you a quizmaster?
Compare your score
Max Score: {{vm.maxPoints}}
Your Score
Community Average
High scores
or to track your quiz stats, save your best scores, and compete with the community!
Your preference has been recorded
Check out Britannica's new site for parents!
Subscribe Today!
乐彩网 临海市 湖北省 钟祥市 大同市 兰溪市 湘潭市 松滋市 铁力市 彭州市 厦门市 宜春市 邹城市 彭州市 山东省 金昌市 平度市 海南省 双滦区 忻州市 葫芦岛市 十堰市 平度市 潞城市 临沂市 阜新市 普兰店市 汉川市 兴城市 都匀市 枣庄市 安达市 烟台市 高邮市 梅河口市 江油市 白银市 丰城市 孝义市 石首市 池州市 葫芦岛市 福建省 金华市 梅河口市 胶州市 上虞市 大石桥市 江阴市 吉首市 大庆市 铁力市 深州市 山西省 厦门市 项城市 永州市 原平市 明光市 耒阳市